Social Justice

Human rights as an element of social justice: A means to an end and self-contained guarantees.

In a democratic society human rights, in addition to serving as important barriers against arbitrary state interventions, play a major role in the implementation of social justice. From a human rights perspective social justice means that the necessary basic conditions are created that allow all people to exercise their human rights. This requires among other things the fulfillment of the basic needs of the citizens as well as adquate social security.

However, human rights are not only a tool for implementing social justice, but they should also guarantee social justice directly. The right to a minimum wage and to assistance when in need (Art. 12. Constitution) are directly tied to the concept of human dignity. Further examples are the right to education or the right to health. On an international level, in times of financial and food crisis as well as climate change challenges, the interest is mainly focused on the human rights aspects of the fight against poverty. In this context particular importance is attached to the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights which includes the right to food.

Why is it important to understand social justice from a human rights perspective?

The human rights perspective on social justice changes the distribution of roles: the needy become entitled, donations turn into (legally enforceable) claims. In practical terms, this means that for example social benefits shall be based and distributed in accordance with the fundamental principles of the rule of law and that everybody who meets the requirements has a legal claim to such benefits.

A description of the research projects in the area of social justice can be found here

Prof. Dr. Thomas Gächter, Prof. Dr. Christine Kaufmann

Soziale Gerechtigkeit

Menschenrechte als Element sozialer Gerechtigkeit: Mittel zum Zweck und eigenständige Garantien

In einer demokratischen Gesellschaft haben die Menschenrechte neben ihrer traditionellen Abwehrfunktion gegen Eingriffe des Staates auch eine wichtige Aufgabe bei der Verwirklichung sozialer Gerechtigkeit. Aus menschenrechtlicher Sicht bedeutet soziale Gerechtigkeit, dass jeder Mensch über die notwendigen Grundvoraussetzungen verfügt, um seine Menschenrechte wahrzunehmen. Dies bedingt unter anderem sowohl die Deckung der existentiellen Grundbedürfnisse als auch ein Minimum an sozialer Absicherung.

Menschenrechte sind aber nicht nur ein Mittel zur Umsetzung sozialer Gerechtigkeit, sondern garantieren diese auch direkt. So leitet sich das Recht auf Existenzminimum und Nothilfe (Art. 12 BV) direkt aus der Menschenwürde ab. Weitere Beispiele sind das Recht auf Bildung oder das Recht auf Gesundheit. International steht in Zeiten von Finanz-/Nahrungsmittelkrise und Klimawandel derzeit der menschenrechtliche Gehalt der Armutsbekämpfung im Zentrum des Interesses. Besondere Bedeutung kommt in diesem Zusammenhang dem im UNO Pakt über wirtschaftliche, soziale und kulturelle Rechte enthaltenen Menschenrecht auf Nahrung zu.

Weshalb ist es wichtig, soziale Gerechtigkeit aus menschenrechtlicher Sicht zu begreifen?

Eine menschenrechtliche Betrachtung sozialer Gerechtigkeit verändert die Rollenverteilung: Bedürftige werden zu Berechtigten, Gaben zu (rechtlich durchsetzbaren) Ansprüchen. Konkret bedeutet dies, dass etwa Sozialleistungen nach rechtsstaatlichen Grundsätzen zu vergeben sind und dass alle Menschen, welche die Voraussetzungen erfüllen, einen rechtlichen Anspruch auf solche Leistungen haben.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Gächter, Prof. Dr. Christine Kaufmann

Eine Beschreibung der Forschungsprojekte im Bereich der Sozialen Gerechtigkeit finden Sie hier.