About the UZHR

Bundling competencies and independent research

The Centre for Human Rights Studies of the University of Zurich (UZHR) is an interdisciplinary scientific network with the goal of promoting and coordinating research, teaching and knowledge transfer in the area of human rights.

Through the institutional concentration of the competencies of the participating experts, who come from different areas of research, the UZHR contributes to making current knowledge available and promoting its development. At present, more than 50 members (member list), who tackle human rights questions related to our main research areas in their own research, are united under the roof of the UZHR organisation.

At the same time, the UZHR is directly involved in research projects through cooperations with the National Centre of Competence in Research (NCCR) on Trade Regulation and the Swiss Centre of Expertise in Human Rights (SCEHR), where the UZHR is responsible for the human rights and business cluster (current SCEHR newsletter).

Knowledge Transfer

In addition to compiling and further developing the human rights knowledge base, the UZHR actively promotes a comprehensive knowledge exchange with business and political actors as well as the general public. Since its foundation the UZHR has organized different lecture series on human rights issues (current topic: human rights questions related to dementia), and recently, it has started a new doctoral colloquium on the subject of human dignity.

The UZHR aims to increase awareness for human rights issues with events, studies and other relevant knowledge transfer efforts tailored to specific target groups. Thanks to this engagement and effort, the UZHR is now a contact point for everyone seeking  expertise and advisory services on the subject of human rights in Switzerland.

Organisation of UZHR

Partners UZHR

Funding UZHR

Über das MRZ

Bündelung von Kompetenzen und eigenständige Forschung

Das Kompetenzzentrum Menschenrechte der Universität Zürich (MRZ) ist ein inter-disziplinär angelegtes wissenschaftliches Netzwerk mit dem Zweck der Förderung und Koordination von Forschung, Lehre und Wissenstransfer im Bereich Menschenrechte.

Durch die institutionelle Bündelung der Kompetenzen der beteiligten ExpertInnen aus verschiedenen Fachrichtungen trägt das MRZ dazu bei, den bestehenden Wissensstand zugänglich zu machen und weiterzuentwickeln. Unter dem Dach des MRZ vereinen sich die Mitglieder, die in ihrer Forschung mit menschenrechtlichen Fragen rund um unsere Forschungsschwerpunkte konfrontiert sind.

Gleichzeitig ist das MRZ selber an Forschungsprojekten unmitelbar beteiligt. Kooperationen erfolgen insbesondere mit dem National Center for Competence in Research on trade regulation (NCCR) und dem Schweizerischen Kompetenzzentrum für Menschenrechte (SKMR), bei dem das MRZ für den Themenbereich Menschenrechte und Wirtschaft verantwortlich ist (zum aktuellen SKMR-Newsletter).

Wissensvermittlung

Neben der Erfassung und Weiterentwicklung des menschenrechtlichen Wissens-standes, setzt sich das MRZ aktiv für eine umfassende Wissensvermittlung an Wirtschaft, Politik und interessierte Öffentlichkeit ein. So organisiert das MRZ seit jeher Veranstaltungsreihen zur menschenrechtlichen Fragen (aktuell: Arbeit und Migration aus menschenrechtlicher Sicht). Neu bietet das MRZ auch eine Summer School unter dem Titel "Business and Human Rights" an.

Weiter will das MRZ im Sinne dieses Wissenstransfers mittels weiterer Veranstaltungen, Gutachten und anderer adressatengerecht aufbereiteter Erkenntnisvermittlung menschenrechtliche Fragestellungen stärker im Bewusstsein der anvisierten Gruppen verankern. Das MRZ entwickelte sich dank dieser Bemühungen schweizweit zu einer Anlaufstelle für Expertise und Beratung im Bereich der Menschenrechte.

Das Organiagramm des MRZ

Zu den Partnern des MRZ

Wie finanziert sich das MRZ?